Colloquium #27: Social Distancing Salon

By March 20, 2020 March 23rd, 2020 Uncategorized

Thursday March 26, 5pm-7pm AST (4pm EST / 3pm CST / 2pm MST / 1pm PST)
Zoom link: https://zoom.us/j/801912655

Convened by David Gagnon Walker and Karen Gross
Hosted by 2b theatre company

This thing we do as performance makers is all about gathering and expression. These basic functions of our practice feel precious and tenuous in these strange times. For this online edition of the Colloquium Series, we’re aiming to design a digital forum for artists in the Halifax community and beyond to connect, share work, and be together in creative space.

This is your invitation to the Social Distancing Salon.

David Gagnon Walker and Karen Gross, 2b’s RBC Emerging Artist-in-Residence and Managing Producer, will host a Zoom call for artists to share with each other from the comfort and self-isolation of their homes. Each participant will have 5 minutes to share with the group. Within those 5 minutes, anything is fair game. You can share a poem, a song, a painting, a dance, a recipe, or a lecture. You can share something you made, or something by another artist that’s been inspiring you or giving you solace. This is about staying connected to who we are and what we do, and finding different ways to share creative spirit with each other. It’s about getting back to basics. It’s also an online experiment in keeping gathering and expression alive when we can’t commune in real space.

Artists all over the world, working in any discipline, are welcome to share whatever they’d like. To sign up for a 5-minute spot, please email karen@2btheatre.com.

Anyone is also welcome to drop in and listen without sharing anything – just click the Zoom link at 5pm AST on March 26th.

Take care, everyone.